Chicago Equestrian - News, Events, Contacts and Marketing Services

2017 Western National Finals Re-Cap

Your IEA Newsletter!                             July 20, 2017
2017 Western National Finals Re-Cap 

Olivia Willeke from KM Equestrian is the 2017 IEA Western Champion Rider - Zone 5
The second and final day of competition on July 2nd at the 2017 Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA) National Finals marked the conclusion of a year-long season of team competition. Nearly 200 Western riders from across the nation spent two days vying for individual and national titles at the IEA Western Finals held during the National Reining Horse Association (NRHA) Derby. Saturday's activities included individual competition in both Reining and Horsemanship with Sunday's Team competition heating up the arena with the same classes, but with teams collecting points along with ribbons.

As with the individual competition day, horses schooled in the morning and the day started off with Team reining competition. Riders from across the United States filled Arena 6 at the Oklahoma City State Fairgrounds where both riders and parents alike set up banners, wore costumes, cheered loudly and created a complete atmosphere of comradery, sportsmanship and friendly competition. IEA Team Competition day is unlike most other equestrian competitions in that riders depend upon their teammates to score points during their classes to determine how their team places at Nationals.  
Continue Reading 
Leading Western Horse - Juicy - Provided by Jim Dudley Quarter Horses
Pictured L to R:  Jim Dudley on Juicy, Roxane Durant (IEA Co-Founder and Executive Director), Myron Leff (IEA Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer), and Western Youth Board Representatives. Photo by Waltenberry.
The Grier School was certainly not bashful about showing their team spirit during the Parade of Teams. They also walked away as Upper School Team Champions.  The Grier School is located in Tyrone, PA (Zone 11).
Middle School Team Champions - King Show Horses (Zone 4 from Snellville, GA) and coached by Jennifer King.  Pictured L to R:  Roxane Durant (IEA Co-Founder and Executive Director),  King Show Horses Team Members, Gary Carpenter (NRHA Commissioner),  Myron Leff (IEA Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer).  Photo by Waltenberry.
Receiving the NRHA Rider Sportsmanship Award and the Coach's Sportmanship Award was the mother/daughter duo of Madison Vance and Karen Kapp-Vance of Diamond V Ranch Equestrians (Pawnee,OK - Zone 8).  Pictured with Roxane Durant (IEA Co-Founder and Executive Director) and Myron Leff (IEA Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer).  Photo by Waltenberry.
The Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA), in conjunction with the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA), awards a student-rider the National Sportsmanship Award each year. This year's award was presented to Michael Golinowski, a Junior from Burke, VA. 
The national award winner is selected from a group of riders who earned a Sportsmanship Award at a local, regional or zone IEA show during the 2016-2017 season. These winners were then invited to submit an application for the National Sportsmanship Award. The student-riders submitted a resume, composed a 250-word essay explaining how horses and/or equestrian competition have influenced her/his life and three letters of recommendation.
Michael Golinowski, a rider on the TSF Equestrian Team of Spotsylvania, VA (coached by Kara Drewry), received a five hundred-dollar ($500.00) scholarship from the IEA, a lifetime membership to the IEA and a nomination by the IEA to affiliate sportsmanship award programs. The IHSA awarded Golinowski a keeper trophy and his name engraved on a perpetual Sportsmanship Award trophy.  Also receiving a $500.00 scholarship as the highest ranking senior is Alexandra Prymek from Shreveport, LA who rides for Hidden Acres Equestrian Center.

Keegan Lammers from Team JGPH - Zone 5, received the Volunteer Award at the 2017 IEA Western National Finals.  Pictured here with Roxane Durant (IEA Co-Founder and Executive Director) and Myron Leff (Co-Founder and Executive Director).
Congratulations to the following Youth Board Nominees who were recently elected to serve as representatives in their Zones.  Youth Board Members play an important role in the IEA in helping communicate important ideas from their peers as well as help with events throughout the year, including National Finals. 

Welcome to these NEW and RETURNING Youth Board Members:

ZONE 1 - Anna Nosevich, Linstedt Show Stables
ZONE 2 - Emma Bachyrycz, Willow Creek
ZONE 3 - Hailey Johnson, Chatham Hall
ZONE 4 - Abbe Humphries, Fortitude
ZONE 5 - Elli Wilson, Sid Griffith
ZONE 7 - Celeste Fazioli, Blackjack Lane
ZONE 8 - Olivia Barden, Front Range Equestrian Team
ZONE 10 - Alex Bischoff, Elvenstar UH
ZONE 11 - Amanda Patterson, Second Nature Farm

ZONE 2 - Emily Boldt, Alfred
ZONE 4 - Kyra Petty, Last Lap
ZONE 5 - Keegan Lammers, Team JGPH
ZONE 7 - Madison Vance, Diamond V Ranch Equestrians 
Interscholastic Equestrian Association 
467 Main St., Melrose, MA 02176
 877-RIDE-IEA (877-743-3432) 

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView on InstagramView our videos on YouTube
Interscholastic Equestrian Association, National Office, PO Box 809, Chagrin Falls, OH 44022
Sent by in collaboration with
Constant Contact